Morrison Tech Holds 83rd Graduation Ceremony


At Morrison Tech, graduation ceremonies take on a profoundly personal significance. It is a ceremony that stands out as a testament to the power of familial bonds and the celebration of achievement.

Morrison Tech hosts a small campus with cozy classrooms that embody the essence of a family atmosphere. Students and faculty alike form tight bonds that extend beyond the confines of academia, creating a supportive environment where success is not just celebrated but cherished. 

On Saturday, May 4, 2024, students, family and friends gathered to celebrate their accomplishments.  In the Parkinson Auditorium you could hear the buzz of families and friends eagerly waiting to witness this milestone moment. Unlike larger universities, where graduates may feel lost in the crowd, Morrison’s ceremony exudes an intimacy that is palpable. 

As the soon to be graduates walked down the aisles of the auditorium they were greeted with cheers and applause.  For many of these graduates, earning an associates degree represents not only academic achievement but also overcoming personal obstacles and challenges.  It is a moment of pride not just for the individual but for the entire Morrison Tech family.

The ceremony was kicked off by a welcome speech from President Christopher Scott.  President Scott applauded the students for their hard work, dedication and achievements.  He encouraged them to make their own mark on the world and reinforced that even though they have graduated from the college and are no longer physically on campus, the college will always be here as a support system when needed. 

Prior to awarding the students their degrees the audience heard from three students, each representing their area of emphasis.  Those addressing the guests were; Laurel Niemeier - Construction Technology,  Riley McKenna - CAD & Drafting and Michael Netherland - Network Administration.

Associates in Applied Science Degrees were awarded to each student.  In addition to the awarding of degrees, several students received additional awards and recognitions:

Joshua Woodard - Excellence in Building & Construction Technology

Keagan Hicks - Excellence in Engineering Technology 

 Jordan Watznauer - Excellence in Design Technology 

 Michael Netherland - Excellence in Mathematics

 Michael Netherland - Excellence in Network Administration

Kaylah Boelens - Excellence in Technical Communication

Amidst the speeches and accolades, what truly shines through is the sense of community that permeates every aspect of the ceremony. The new graduates share stories of camaraderie, support and of late-night study sessions and games.  They speak of professors and staff who believed in them when they doubted themselves and classmates who became lifelong friends.

As the graduates filed out of the auditorium, diplomas in hand and smiles on their faces, they carried with them not just a piece of paper but memories of a journey shared with those who became like family.

In a world that often seems chaotic and impersonal, Morrison Tech stands out, reminding us that greatness can be found in the smallest of places.  As the graduates embark on their next chapter, they do so with the knowledge that they are not alone, that they carry with them the love and support of a community that will always be there to cheer them on.

Graduates for the May 2024 term:

***Summa Cum Laude(GPA 3.90 - 4.0) 

** Magna Cum Laude(GPA 3.75-3.89)

 * Cum Laude(GPA 3.50-3.74) 

Engineering Technology - Construction Concentration

Albert Alvarado, Jr. -  Sterling, Illinois

Kaylah Boelens-  Polo, Illinois** 

Jonathan Clark - Ottawa, Illinois***

Keagan Hicks - Rock Falls, Illinois***

Braxton Law - Rock Falls, Illinois

Andrew McKee - Moline, Illinois

 Mason Misfeldt - Erie, Illinois*

Laurel Niemeier - Moline, Illinois

Ashton Schramm - Forreston, Illinois

Joshua Woodard - Rock Falls, Illinois***

Engineering Technology - Design & Drafting Concentration

Damian Burns - Moline, Illinois

Izaic Dimmick - Clinton, Iowa 

Zander Dyson - Tampico, Illinois

Zachary Martin - Rock Falls, Illinois

Riley McKenna - Lanark, Illinois**

Connor Mullan - Rock Falls, Illinois 

Lucas Rogalla - Ottawa, Illinois

Rebecca Svetlick - Milan, Illinois***


Networking Administration Concentration

Owen Brown - Genoa, Illinois

Gatlin Ford - Moline, Illinois

Michael Netherland - German Valley, Illinois***

Daniel Ripley - Rock Falls, Illinois

Timothy Roach - Sabula, Iowa


Engineering Technology - Design & Drafting Concentration December 2023

Devin Lorenzen - Dixon, Illinois

Jordan Watznauer - New London, Iowa*** 

 Networking Administration Concentration December 2023

CJ Clark - Rochelle, Illinois

Travis Null - Amboy, Illinois